I’m not really sure how to call this one. At the moment, it’s quite sunny and I definitely see shadows outside, but when I woke up this morning, it was cloudy. I think that it was about eight when the sun started coming out, and I don’t know what time the groundhog wakes up.  I’m going to guess it was still cloudy at the time, though, because it really doesn’t feel like there are going to be six more weeks of winter. Apparently Alabama weather got a little confused and forgot all about winter this year, because it was never cold for more than a couple of days here and there. In principle, I’m in favor of having an early spring, but I would like to have at least a little snow this winter. At this point, I’d even settle for a slight flurry.

I hear that the official groundhog in Pennsylvania saw his shadow today. It doesn’t make sense, though, for his prediction to apply for the entire country. It’s not that I’m against federal centralization in general, but weather should clearly be a state or local issue. People should look to their own local groundhogs for weather predictions.

