Friday the 13th isn’t really unlucky. That would be illogical; thirteen is a cool number and Friday is a cool day of the week. I am tempted to estimate some statistics about how much better Fridays are than certain other days, but I doubt that my arbitrary statistics will be valid enough to mean anything. Starting next week, I intend to keep records enabling me to compare the goodness of different days statistically, but for the time being, you’re just going to have to take my word for it that there’s nothing wrong with Fridays.  The thirteen part makes a little more sense because thirteen is prime, but it just so happens to be one of the few prime numbers that is cool in spite of its primeness. If the superstition said, for example, that Monday the 23rd is unlucky, that would make more sense because Mondays tend to be uncool and 23 is not a good number. But the superstition about Friday the 13th is just silly.

As well as being Friday the 13th, today is also my black cat Bo’s birthday. Unfortunately, since I am at college 370 miles away from him, I can’t tell him happy birthday in person, so I hope that my family is giving him extra cat treats on my behalf.

Incidentally, speaking of silly superstitions, it is only bad luck to have a black cat cross your path if it’s the middle of the night and it’s dark and you can’t see the black cat.  It’s also bad luck if a black cat crosses the board in the middle of a chess game, particularly if the cat is cheering for your brother.

