Today is two very important holidays. The first one, of course, is Mother’s Day. Since I think I should write a blog post for every important holiday, I figured I should say something about Mother’s Day, but I wasn’t sure what. It wouldn’t make sense to just write something telling my mother Happy Mother’s Day because, as far as I know, she doesn’t read this blog. (In case I’m wrong about that, hi Mommy! Happy Mother’s Day!) I didn’t think it seemed right to say stuff about my mother without asking her ahead of time if that was okay. The only other kind of Mother’s Day post I could think of would be a really cliché and generic paragraph or two about how wonderful mothers are in general and how my mother is especially wonderfully mother-ish, but I didn’t want to write something cliché and generic. In case my sister is reading this, I would like to point out that there is in fact a reason why I chose to use the non-word mother-ish instead of the word motherly. The tone is completely different.

Anyway, my dilemma about the ideal Mother’s Day post is solved by the fact that there is a second holiday today. This second and less well-known holiday is Lysander’s Birthday. Lysander (1986-2004) was one of the cats who graced my family’s home with his presence for much of my childhood. He was also my adoptive third parent. There are no words to describe his awesomeness, but if you want to see a list of words that come close, get a thesaurus and look under ‘affectionate’, ‘loyal’ and the adjective form of ‘kind’.

Here is Lysander’s baby picture.

Image

