It’s time for yet another holiday post. The holiday to which I am referring is not the first day of summer break, although that is incidentally also today. Technically, the first day of summer break isn’t actually a holiday; I mention this event merely because it’s kind of a big deal. Anyway, today’s holiday is Ascension Day, and to be honest, I almost forgot about it ahead of time. It’s a good thing I have a Lutheran calendar that reminds me when all of the church holidays are.

In honor of today’s holiday, here is an Ascension Day picture. I chose this one because Jesus is fully dressed in it, and I think it seems likely that Jesus generally wore clothes. It strikes me as being odd and a little sacrilegious that many artists, particularly those of the Renaissance era, like to portray Jesus as if His attitude towards clothes was similar to that of Captain Kirk. (In case anyone hasn’t noticed, Captain Kirk apparently has an aversion to wearing shirts) It is true that Jesus wasn’t fully dressed when He was crucified, (Matthew 27: 35) but the Ascension occurred forty days after the Resurrection, so Jesus probably would have found the time to get dressed at some point.

Actually, it isn’t really important what Jesus was or wasn’t wearing at the time of the Ascension.  If it did matter, the Bible would have been specific about it. Thus endeth my random speculations and comments about Jesus’ attire.  And now I’m going to stick a couple bible verses at the end of this blog post so that isn’t random and pointless.

“Ye men of Galilee, why stand ye gazing up into heaven? This same Jesus, which is taken up from you into heaven, shall so come in like manner as ye have seen him go into heaven.” Acts 1:11 KJV

“Now that he ascended, what is it but that he also descended first into the lower parts of the earth? He that descended is the same also that ascended up far above all heavens, that he might fill all things.” Ephesians 4:9-10 KJV

 

