Exactly one year from today, I’ll be graduating college. In a little bit less than one day from this moment, I’ll be watching the graduation of friends and former classmates who are a year ahead of me. Graduation feels a little weirder every year as the people who are graduating seem more and more like my peers. When I was a freshman, I didn’t know a lot of seniors, and the ones I did know seemed so much more experienced than me that I definitely saw them as my superiors. Last year, when I was a sophomore, I knew a lot more of the graduating seniors, but not nearly all of them. They were obviously closer to my age, but I still thought of them as being pretty far ahead of me. This year, though, there will be people graduating who have been in classes with me many times, have discussed assignments with me, and, in many cases, have asked for my help with their papers when I’m at work in the Writing Center. (I’m a peer tutor, which is most of the time a pretty awesome job, especially because it means I get to tell people that I’m a professional grammar Nazi) I think that the majority of the graduating class this year is people that I know personally, or at least that I’ve talked to a number of times and will recognize their names. The weirdest part is that for most of these people, this will be the last time I’ll see them. That isn’t quite as sad as it sounds, but it’s still a little bittersweet.

