As of 6:09 this evening (in this time zone) it will officially be summer. That seems a little weird considering that, according to popular culture and according to the academic school year, it has already been summer for a few weeks. According to my personal perspective, the transition from one season to another is a gradual change that happens over the course of about three weeks. Summer starts to start in early or mid May and finishes starting in late May or early June. (The exact dates depend upon numerous other factors, most notably the weather and when school ends) Of course, that’s pretty arbitrary; the solstices and equinoxes are what really determine seasonal transitions because, from a scientific and technical point of view, a season is defined as the period of time between an equinox and a solstice.

I have a tendency to form mental associations between times of the year and certain books, movies, or interests. For example, May is Star Wars month. There’s no particular reason as far as I can recall; it just is. In general, the late spring and the summer are science fiction time. I’m a bit of a science fiction nerd any time of year, but somehow all of my favorite science fiction seems to me to belong to the summer in particular. Speaking of which, last night I watched The Matrix, which I have intended to watch for a really long time, and I thought it was incredibly awesome. I seriously need to watch some Star Trek this summer; I haven’t watched Star Trek in ages. And I need to watch all of the Star Wars movies at some point, although I’m not sure when I’ll find time for that.

Many of my current summer traditions are actually quite recent, because most of my old ones became obsolete when I started college. (That is not quite as big of a deal as it sounds, because most of these traditions involved certain computer games that I no longer have) Last summer, I discovered that it’s a lot of fun to read outside for extended periods of time, especially if you start before it gets dark and don’t come back until it’s late in the evening. I’ve actually only had a chance to do that once so far this summer. It shall happen again.

I looked through my pictures on my computer and tried to find a quintessential summer picture to make this post pretty. I’m not sure if this is necessarily the best one, but it works. I took it last June at the lake on campus which is almost but not quite visible from the window of my current dorm room.

