I looked it up on Google, and the symptoms are pretty conclusive.

I realize that this internet meme has gone out of style, but I feel a need to use it because it’s one of the few internet memes that I have liked.

It began gradually; I can’t even say exactly when I began noticing the signs. They were subtle at first. Occasionally, I would feel a sensation of anticipation or impatience when hearing other people mention their own graduation. I began experiencing slight GRE anxiety and an increased fixation on my GPA. I developed an interest and curiosity in the issue of life after graduation. (It exists, but from what I’ve heard, it’s very different from college life, and apparently it involves even more bills and responsibility and stuff like that.) Over time, the intensity of the symptoms escalated, and by the time I finished my junior year of college last May, I realized that I had developed a case of senioritis. This conclusion was verified a couple days ago, when I accidentally stayed up until about three in the morning using various internet searches to try to decide where I will live and go to church if I am to attend the graduate school that is currently my top choice, and to find out how far the school/the apartment/the church is from various landmarks of interest.

Senioritis is a disease without a cure. Once you have it, it sticks with you until the end. (The end of college, that is) Based upon what I have heard

Ah, those carefree college days!
…Nope, not feeling the nostalgia yet.

from friends and acquaintances who have contracted senioritis and graduated before me, I understand that later symptoms include increased distortion of the perception of time, increased anxiety about the future, nostalgia about one’s stint as an undergraduate student, and, in extreme cases, moments of academic apathy due to impatience concerning graduation. Although there is no known treatment, senioritis still can be an expensive disease because those who have it are generally required to pay graduate fees in addition to tuition and other college expenses.

At this point, I am more or less in denial of my condition. I only have a year left, and clearly I am much too young and immature to move on into the afterlife. (The after-college-life, that is) Seriously, I am a little kid. Once, not long ago, I fell off a log and skinned my knee while I was trying to get a better look at a lizard. A few weeks ago, I pulled a hilarious practical joke on my sister, which I will not describe here because I don’t think she’s found out about it yet. For the last couple of weeks, I have regularly replaced meals with ice cream simply because ice cream is cooler. (Pun intended) Next time I get a package in the mail, I intend to draw on it and cut it to make a flux capacitor for my car. Clearly, this is not the behavior of a sophisticated and mature adult.

On the other hand, I don’t think I ever want to become the kind of adult who is too mature to eat excessive amounts of ice cream or to appreciate the awesomeness of having a fake flux capacitor in the car. (A real one would be even awesomer, but I don’t have the technological skills and knowledge to make a real one) As long as I’m resigned to the fact that there are a few grownup traits that I will never have, I suppose it doesn’t matter if I graduate college without acquiring them.

But I still have to get through 323 days of college, while living with my senioritis.

