This summer, I have been expanding my horizons, embracing new experiences, and learning about how other people see the world. It was not my intention to do so, it kind of just happened, but I have been living life as I have never lived it before. What I mean is this: I have temporarily stopped being a morning person. It is no longer natural and normal for me to get up and start my day long before everyone else and then to be asleep when the night is still young. Now I tend to go to sleep at two or three in the morning, if not later, and then struggle to wake up at a reasonable time. Because my to-do list specifically says that I have stuff to do in the morning, I generally do force myself to be out of bed by about seven-ish (which is already pretty late by my regular non-summer standards) but every now and then, I decide to sleep as late as I want, mostly out of curiosity to see what it’s like to sleep up late, and to see what time is a natural waking-up time, according to my current lifestyle. Each time I do that, it is a little later. Today, it was going on nine when I finally dragged myself out of bed, which is probably the latest I’ve ever woken up when I’m healthy. If this trend continues, I might end up waking up at three or four in the afternoon by the end of the summer.

Actually, this has not been a complete transformation. I never was completely a morning person, at least not for the last several years. Waking up is not a fun thing to do and I think it is horrible that people have to go through that ordeal every single day. What makes it even worse is the fact that we have to do it before having breakfast and coffee; any task that difficult should only be done after having slowly eased into the day. Unfortunately, that’s not actually possible. I am enough of a non-morning person to feel that way even when I’m in the habit of getting up at 5:55 AM every day. Even now, though, I haven’t completely become a night person. I still have less energy and less inclination to do important stuff when it’s late; lateness is a good time to listen to music or watch science fiction, and even then, there’s a good chance that I will fall asleep before the movie/episode is over.

I definitely intend to revert back to my morning-person schedule by the end of the summer, but for the next few weeks, I’m fine with this whole staying-up-super-late thing. It has long been a matter of interest to me to know whether morning people and night people really see the world differently. Does the chronology of the day literally work in opposite directions for these two different categories of humanity, or do night people just feel morning tiredness more acutely than morning people, and vice versa? Based upon my recent experiences, I think that the latter is the case. Since I still retain many of my morning-person tendencies, I can’t offer a definite and decisive statement on this matter, but it has seemed to me that morning still feels like morning and night still feels like night. I just don’t necessarily like the morning anymore.

Dear Morning, I know you and I have had some good times together, but now I hate you. No offense.

