I haven’t posted much in the last couple of weeks, as I’m sure anyone who has been paying attention has noticed. The reason for that, quite simply, is that I’ve been busy. The other reason is that I’ve been lazy, and a third reason is that, every time I started writing something to post, I decided I didn’t like it and ended up not finishing it. I have a quite few Word documents saved on my computer that are the first couple paragraphs of what was intended to be a blog post, but I think I’m just going to scrap all of those and start from scratch.

I might not be posting anything for the next week or so because I’m going to be out of town. In fact, I will be leaving in just a couple hours, which probably means that now would be a good time to start packing. (In my defense, the reason I have not packed yet is not that I’m procrastinating. It’s because I just moved into a new dorm room and I haven’t finished unpacking yet.) Anyway, I’ll probably write one or two posts while I’m gone, so I’ll have something to post as soon as I get back.

In the meantime, here is a random fun fact: because of the differences between the ways that the two hemispheres of the brain work, one ear is better at listening to music and the other is better at listening to talking. (Of course, both ears are capable of hearing either; it is worth noting that the differences between the left and right hemispheres of the brain are usually exaggerated.) After I read that, I forgot which ear was which, so I tested it with youtube videos and earphones, and the answer is that my left ear hears music better and my right ear hears talking better. (I am guessing that’s reversed for left-handed people) That would explain why, whenever the left side of my earphones stop working, (which happens to me strangely often) I find it really annoying when I’m listening to a music CD, but it doesn’t make a big difference if I’m watching a DVD.  The obvious question that this raises is what would happen if someone designed earphones that made music sound fuzzier on the left side than the right, and vice versa for talking. Either it would negate the effects of this phenomenon, or it would cause an anomaly that would destroy all life as we know it. I’m guessing that the former is more likely.

