I have a rare, and possibly unique, condition that I call Evitaphobia. That is, I have an irrational fear of the former Argentine first lady Eva Peron. Actually, I’m not really scared of her, I just find her vaguely creepy, but the fact remains that this is an irrational thing to think.  Over Christmas break last year, my sisters and I became obsessed with Andrew Lloyd Weber’s musical Evita and we memorized a significant portion of the soundtrack, which was a lot of fun, but it probably was not a good idea for me to frequently stay up late reading online biographies of someone who I inexplicably found creepy.  There was one specific night that I recall going to bed and then lying awake for a while with the face of Eva Peron wafting disturbingly through my brain.

I can think of worse images to have stuck in my brain. There’s nothing particularly horrifying about this.

There’s something fascinating about things that are vaguely creepy. I have to admit that I very much enjoy a good ghost story, and at one time I spent a lot of time reading and writing them. I don’t think much of horror movies (although it’s not like I’ve actually seen many), but that’s not because they’re too scary, it’s because, as I said in this post from last June, they’re not scary in a particularly intellectual way.

Because of my obsession with classifying and quantifying everything, I have determined that there are three different types of fear. (Anyone who knows more than me about psychology can feel free to roll their eyes at this, because I admit that I totally made it up.) First, there is the awareness or belief that you are or might be in danger. This kind of fear is never an enjoyable thing. The second kind is the emotional response to danger, which can be elicited not only by genuine fear but also by things such as scary rides, thriller movies, or the sudden noise when a large object unexpectedly crashes onto the floor. Some people must actually find that type of fear enjoyable, because scary rides and thriller movies are pretty popular. As far as I know, there isn’t an especially large fan base for large objects unexpectedly crashing onto the floor, but I could be wrong about that. Anyway, the third kind of fear is the kind of fear associated with things that are vaguely creepy for no readily obvious reason. My sisters and I made up a very lovely adjective for those kinds of things, but I’m pretty sure that word’s a secret that I must not reveal. I can say, though, that we defined it as “Creepy, eerie, and spooky.”

The reason that creepy, eerie, and spooky things are (at least in my opinion) fun to think about is that they’re scary in a way that makes you think. The reason they’re scary isn’t that they startle you and try to make you feel as if you’re in danger. They’re scary because they’re somehow metaphorical for a disturbing idea, and the creepy, eerie, and spooky thing that makes you feel afraid is drawing your mind towards that idea. For an example, here is something else I posted last May.

Here is a picture of my window last Halloween, to prove that I’m not always as much of a partypooper as I am this Halloween. Also, it was not that long ago that I used to always celebrate Halloween by mutilating a pumpkin and putting a candle inside of it, then disguising myself and roaming the streets demanding candy from people.

In case it isn’t obvious, the reason I’m writing this today is that it’s Halloween. Sadly, I’m not doing anything for Halloween because Wednesdays are my busy days; it’s 9:25 and I wouldn’t have had a chance to do anything special before now. Although I didn’t mind that ahead of time, now I am annoyed with life about it. But anyway, every costume idea I had has already been claimed by one of my sisters. So I’ve decided just to tell people that I’m being a space alien disguised as an Earthling. Maybe I should have been Eva Peron, though.

