Once upon a time, when I first started this blog, I made up one rule about how often I would post stuff. It went like this:

  1. I will not make up rules about how often I will post stuff.

It is worth noting that making this rule did not entail breaking it because the rule clearly states “rules”, which is plural. As long as there is only one rule, it’s okay. (Technically, I have an unstated second rule, which is that I never post more than once in a day. But we won’t actually call that a rule, because if we did, then I’d be breaking the rule.)

Anyway, the point is that I don’t follow a schedule when it comes to writing stuff for this blog and that I’m never going to make it a priority to post on a daily basis. With that being said, I always like it when I realize that I’ve been posting a lot, and I don’t like it when I stop posting much stuff for a while. For the next couple weeks, I am going to try to post something most days. (Note that the word “most” is vague and that the word “try” does not imply obligation, and therefore, this statement does not break the previously stated rule.) The problem is that, as I mentioned in the thingy I wrote yesterday, I’m super busy right now. Earlier this evening, I blocked out my schedule for the next week and a half, and I don’t have any unscheduled time at all from now until Christmas break. In order to keep my blog from sinking into oblivion in the meantime, I’m going to have to write shorter things, like I did when I first started this blog.

Now I have to get back to work on my senior seminar paper so that I can make some progress on it before the residence hall meeting that I have to attend later tonight. But first, in order to keep this blog post from being pointless and boring, I will now ask some questions that have long puzzled me. If they puzzle you as much as they puzzle me, they’ll give you some food for thought. If they don’t puzzle you, tell me the answers. Please.

In theory, shouldn’t there be a finite number of possible melodies? Why is it that people are constantly writing new songs and we haven’t run out of possible songs to be written?

Is there really any such thing as personality, or is it only something we make up to explain certain behaviors? But what is personality if it isn’t simply a tendency to behave in a certain way? In that case, how much free will does someone have to act against their personality? And what is the difference between personality and the motives and/or values that could persuade a person to act against their personality?

