I admit that when I start talking about the space-time continuum, most of the time, I’m just randomly inventing stuff. My science-fiction imagination has a much greater scope than my scientific knowledge, and my explanations of hyperspace, perpendicular universes, multi-dimensional time, temporal disequilibrium, and time gravity are very contrived and completely fictitious. That’s not to say that these ideas aren’t fairly developed; these are all concepts that I can and do use in science fiction with consistency and at least the semblance of sense. Science fiction is more like fantasy than science; it works as long as you can make it sound like your invented rules of the universe can be explained scientifically. For the sake of my own writing, therefore, I can claim that time gravity is real. Personally, I think it makes a lot of sense.

There’s one particular story in which time gravity is a very important plot point. It is a story that my sisters and I started years ago, but I still am adding to it and rewriting it. I don’t think it’ll ever be officially finished because that would end the fun. This is not a work that is meant to be finished. In the story, time has been acting in increasingly odd ways, sometimes skipping over days or months at a time, and at other times failing to move forward in a regular and predictable way. Officer Graxy of the Intergalactic Police of the Space Time Continuum is conducting an investigation, but he only discovers minor disturbances, such as irresponsible use of microwave timers. The strange phenomena occurring are clearly related to a much greater disturbance. Professor Johnson and his assistant Richard of the organization known as Scientific Explanations Inc. join forces with Darth Vader, who is searching for his stolen Death Star, and they realize the true cause of the disturbance: the Death Star has been concealed in hyperspace, an alternate set of dimensions in which the roles of time and space are reversed. Hyperspace is relatively empty, and therefore the presence of an object as massive as the Death Star introduces an astronomical source of gravity. (Notice the pun. Astronomical, Death Star. Get it?) This gravity manifests itself in regular space in the form of time gravity. All of the space-time anomalies are solved when the Death Star is returned to regular space.

Why Time Speeds UpAnother use of the idea of time gravity is more relevant to real life. (Or at least, it would be if I could demonstrate that it existed in real life.) I use it to explain why time seems to speed up as you get older. You see, major events in one’s life are sources of time gravity, and the greatest amount of time gravity comes from death or the apocalypse, whichever comes first. Because of this, everyone is pulled towards the future, a phenomenon which we observe as the passing of time. However, the second greatest amount of time gravity is exerted from the event of birth, and for a small child, birth will be a good deal closer than death. Therefore, the time gravity of birth exerts a significant pull also, which decreases as one gets farther and farther away from birth.

Why Christmas Takes So Long to ComeThe following example comes from a conversation that occurred at my house over Christmas break. We were discussing the fact that Christmas seems to come slowly when you’re a little kid, but it comes all too quickly when you’re older. I insisted that this is because little kids are less busy, a fact that is fairly obvious and straightforward, but I couldn’t resist complicating it by drawing a diagram to illustrate my opinion that this is an example of time gravity. The accompanying diagram is not the one that I drew at the time, but it is, to the best of my memory, pretty much the same. As you can see, a little kid only has a few major events occurring in the weeks before Christmas, but an adult is incredibly busy. (These are examples; I do not mean to imply that people’s ages are the only factor determining their pre-Christmas schedule and timeline.) The diagram clearly shows that there is a greater amount of time mass on the adult’s timeline than on the child’s. This obviously draws the adult towards Christmas quickly. The child is also pulled forward towards Christmas, of course, but because of the lesser degree of time gravity, as well as the aforementioned time gravity from birth, the speed is much slower.

It greatly baffled me that my family did not accept this diagram and explanation as a logical and likely explanation of why time works the way it does.

 

