Birthday cake

Exactly one year ago today, I sat down at my computer, typed a paragraph, and posted it on my brand new blog, accompanied by an unrelated picture of my cat. It wasn’t exactly a spontaneous thing; I had pondered the possibility of starting a blog for a while, and I had specifically chosen that day to begin my blog because the first day of the month seemed like a good time to start something new like this. Looking back at my first few posts, I’m a little amused by how short and pointless they were. For a couple months, the majority of my blog posts were only a paragraph or two. It wasn’t until late May that I really got into blogging, but then for the first half of the summer, it was a pretty major part of my life. Over the past couple months, I’ve kind of gotten back to that point again, although we’ll see what happens when I get busier with school again. January term, which ended yesterday, gave me a lot more free time and free mental energy than I normally have, and spring semester is going to be busier.

During this year of blogging, I have posted 140 times, which is an average of about one blog post every 2.61 days. Although I never was aiming for any particular frequency, I am pretty satisfied with that quantity of blogging. To be honest, I’m kind of proud of this blog. I do acknowledge that I’ve posted some things that weren’t very good, and there have even been a few posts that I’ve regretted writing because I was embarrassed by the lack of writing skill they demonstrated. And I’ve certainly made a few typos, left out a few points I intended to make, and written a few awkward sentences or paragraphs that annoyed me far more than they should have. But overall, I feel like there’s a lot of cool stuff on my blog, and I think it’s been well worth the time I’ve put into it. In a way, I don’t really even care how many views it gets, but at the same time, I really do like the idea that other people, whether I know them or not, can see stuff I’ve written and might enjoy it. Every time that someone I know in real life mentions to me that they saw something I wrote on my blog, I’m flattered by their interest. And I find it fascinating that there are at least a few people in the world that know me only through what I post on my blog.

Given the fact that I’m writing this on my blog, it would make sense for me to say a few things about how much blogging has changed my life for the better. That actually would be a bit of a hyperbolic thing to say, but I suppose it’s true to some extent. I frequently find myself scripting out blog posts in my head during the course of my everyday schedule. I only have time to post a small fraction of the stuff I plan to post, but it does kind of give me a different way of thinking about the world. And it also gives me a way to voice my opinions and ideas without having to, you know, actually talk to people. (Not that I’m necessarily opposed to talking to people, but conversations are a lot more likely to feel awkward than typing stuff on my computer screen is.)

I was going to write something corny about how much stuff has happened in my life over the past twelve months, but I decided that would be just a little too cliché. (Although, incidentally, it would be totally true; the last year has been ridiculously eventful for me.) Instead, I’m just going to finish this post by thanking you all for reading it. For those of you who have been reading my blog regularly, I hope you’ve been enjoying it. And for any of you who haven’t seen my blog before, please come back and visit it again sometime!

