Yesterday, I spent my day doing something that has become something of a tradition for me in the weekend between the end of January term and the beginning of spring term. I reorganized my dorm room. First, I stuffed every object that I own in the storage closet to get it out of my way, then I pushed my furniture around, and then I put all the stuff back in my room, taking care that the final arrangement of my room wasn’t very similar to the former arrangement. Given the fact that I dislike changing my schedule, I suppose it’s a little weird that I really love changing my room. I think of rearranging furniture as being similar to a jigsaw puzzle; my dorm is too small to allow for much maneuvering, so it takes some creativity to figure out how to get things past each other. An extra challenge is posed by the fact that much of the dorm room furniture is rather heavy and I have no measurable upper body strength. The only reason I am capable of moving things like my wardrobe is that I am incredibly stubborn and I am perfectly willing to spend inordinate amounts of time scooching something inch by inch if that’s the only way I can get it to move. In the meantime, the disordered array of my furniture deprives me of any walking space, so I have to jump up on top of my furniture like a cat or a rambunctious young child. This is great fun, although it does occur to me to wonder what anyone else would think if they were to witness this. After an hour or so of furniture maneuvering and a couple more hours of putting stuff away, I have a brand new room that’s full of the exact same cool stuff that was in my old room.

For the purpose of obsessively documenting every detail of my life on the internet, I am posting pictures of my room here on my blog.

This is what my room looks like as you walk through the door. For the record, that black cat in the picture next to the window is Lysander, one of the three cats my family had when I was little. The picture was taken before I was born.

This is what my room looks like as you walk through the door. For the record, that black cat in the picture next to the window is Lysander, one of the three cats my family had when I was little. The picture was taken before I was born.

At one time, I had this much of pi memorized. I have forgotten much of it, but I commemorate that era of my life by keeping this index card on my wall, next to the Star Wars poster and above the light switch with the “I Voted” sticker on it. (Because that just seemed like a good place to put that sticker. No metaphors or political commentary intended.)

At one time, I had this much of pi memorized. I have forgotten much of it, but I commemorate that era of my life by keeping this index card on my wall, next to the Star Wars poster and above the light switch with the “I Voted” sticker on it. (Because that just seemed like a good place to put that sticker. No metaphors or political commentary intended.)

I couldn’t decide which sign needed to go on my wardrobe door, so I used both.

I couldn’t decide which sign needed to go on my wardrobe door, so I used both.

I have a Death Star on top of my wardrobe.

I have a Death Star on top of my wardrobe.

Look, I succeeded in having a piece of furniture that doesn’t have stuff on it! Now I can use it for jigsaw puzzles or chess boards or stuff like that. Incidentally, note that you can see my wall of geniusness next to it.

Look, I succeeded in having a piece of furniture that doesn’t have stuff on it! Now I can use it for jigsaw puzzles or chess boards or stuff like that. Incidentally, note that you can see my wall of geniusness next to it.

My desk

My desk

The top of my desk, in between my textbooks and the coffeepot. The ballerina, giraffe, and white tiger are relics of my early childhood. The purplish glass cross was a confirmation gift. The dinosaur came from Wal Mart about a year and a half ago because I figured I needed a dinosaur in my dorm room.

The top of my desk, in between my textbooks and the coffeepot. The ballerina, giraffe, and white tiger are relics of my early childhood. The purplish glass cross was a confirmation gift. The dinosaur came from Wal Mart about a year and a half ago because I figured I needed a dinosaur in my dorm room.

I like this calendar. It has pictures of castles every month. The picture next to it is my little sister. It’s very outdated; she’s ten and a half now.

I like this calendar. It has pictures of castles every month. The picture next to it is my little sister. It’s very outdated; she’s ten and a half now.

 

As a good Lutheran, I put my “Baptism Saves” sign near the coffeepot.

As a good Lutheran, I put my “Baptism Saves” sign near the coffeepot.

 

I have frequently said that one of my goals in life is to be able to set up a section of a room that looks like the opening scene from the first Back To the Future movie. As you can see, I’m making progress towards that goal. Here is my clock collection, minus a couple. As you can probably see, I haven’t kept up with keeping them set accurately.

I have frequently said that one of my goals in life is to be able to set up a section of a room that looks like the opening scene from the first Back To the Future movie. As you can see, I’m making progress towards that goal. Here is my clock collection, minus a couple. As you can probably see, I haven’t kept up with keeping them set accurately.

The instant I woke up today, I realized that I had put this cross in the perfect place. When the early morning sun shines through the window, it comes through the center of the cross and casts an awesome shadow on the wall near my bed, right in my line of vision.

The instant I woke up today, I realized that I had put this cross in the perfect place. When the early morning sun shines through the window, it comes through the center of the cross and casts an awesome shadow on the wall near my bed, right in my line of vision.

My wall of signs. Most of them are inside jokes.

My wall of signs. Most of them are inside jokes.

It made me happy when I found that my sisters remembered the story behind this. I had thought I might be the only person in the entire universe who had those memories and connotations associated with this phrase.

It made me happy when I found that my sisters remembered the story behind this. I had thought I might be the only person in the entire universe who had those memories and connotations associated with this phrase.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

