AutumnYesterday was the official first day of autumn. The new season arrived at 3:44 in the afternoon, because that’s the precise minute when the equinox occurred. Of course, from most people’s points of view, the weather and social traditions are what really determine when the seasonal transitions occur. Depending upon how you look at it, you may think that autumn started over Labor Day weekend, or on the day that you saw a yellow leaf for the first time this year, or on the first day of school, or on an arbitrary day when you suddenly noticed that it’s getting a lot cooler. I personally don’t have a particular day in mind for when it started being autumn, but I definitely already considered it to be autumn long before yesterday afternoon.

I don’t really have a favorite season of the year, because there are things I especially like about all of them. (I specify that I’m talking about seasons of the year because the word “season” can also refer to “seasons of Doctor Who,” which is what I normally mean when I use that word.) In general, my favorite times of year are the beginnings of each season. And according to that general rule, now is one of the best parts of the year. I am kind of excited to be wearing sweaters, igniting autumnal-scented candles, and watching for the leaves to start changing colors.

AutumnBut the sad thing is that it has become cliché to love this time of year. The average hipster’s favorite season is fall. You can tell because they want everyone on the internet to know how excited they are about fall, and they express this excitement by stating it in captions for artsy photographs of their non-store-brand coffee in non-cardboard cups, and almost-full-body shots of people wearing clothes in autumny colors, with the subjects’ faces out of the frame. Meanwhile, many people who don’t share this eagerness about autumn are making fun of the white girl stereotype that includes an obsession with anything related to the fall season. (I have noticed that the white girl stereotype refers specifically to hipster Caucasian females, not just any Caucasian females.)

Here is another autumn picture, even though it doesn't relate to this paragraph.

Here is another autumn picture, even though it doesn’t really relate to this paragraph. It’s the image of a tree reflected on my car.

I would like to point out the extreme irony of the hipster trend. It has become a pretty large and prominent subset of popular culture even though it characteristically rejects popular culture. (It is worth noting that the term “hipster” has been around for generations and has meant different things at different times.)The current hipster trend involves an unusual taste in music, dressing according to a personal fashion sense instead of following styles, and a lack of interest in celebrity news and other such plebian interests. Hipsters associate themselves with higher intellectual interests and more refined tastes by virtue of the fact that they choose their interests and preferences themselves instead of following the whims of society as a whole. And as far as that goes, I would consider myself part of that movement. I have always preferred oldies to current hits, and I have always ignored current fashion trends. I fully agree with the stereotypically hipster sentiment that there is nothing more comfortable and safe than a good book and a quiet, private place to read. Never have a felt any need to keep track of what is “in.” The hipster cliché about liking something before it became cool applies to me very much; there are a number of times that I’ve started wearing clothes with a certain design or pattern (peace signs and leopard print, for example) or started using a certain phrase shortly before it suddenly became “mainstream.”  Essentially, I was a hipster before it was cool to be a hipster.

But interestingly enough, hipsters form their own subculture that is about more than just a rejection of pop culture. While the stereotypical hipster traits aren’t necessarily true of every hipster, that label is something that a person generally chooses for him or herself, so you really can’t blame non-hipsters for classifying hipsters as if they share personality traits and a lifestyle as well as their opinion of pop culture. Even though hipsters all dress according to their own personal fashion taste, it seems that most hipsters dress more or less the same. Even though they all decide upon their opinions for themselves, it seems that most hipsters have a similar political agenda and consider themselves to be environmentalist activists. Even though they all pursue their own interests, it seems that most hipsters are into photography, poetry, coffee, and their obscure musical tastes that they share with mutual hipsters. Hipsters are considered to be pretentious and selective, as demonstrated by their tendency to look down on anything or anyone that is mainstream and to disapprove of anyone who doesn’t know offhand the geographical origin of the beans that were used to make their coffee. And, as previously noted, a hipster’s favorite season is fall, which they celebrate by drinking pumpkin-flavored organic coffee and taking artsy autumn-themed pictures and posting them on the internet.

Here is a picture that I took and used as my facebook cover photo for a few weeks last year. Yeah, I did admit that I do have follow some aspects of the hipster trend.

Here is a picture that I took and used as my facebook cover photo for a few weeks last year. I did already admit that I do relate to some aspects of the hipster trend.

Obviously, anyone is free to love autumn, regardless of what it is that they love about autumn. My appreciation of autumn weather and colorful leaves, my affinity for sweaters and for foods that are associated with autumn, and my fond memories of childhood Halloween traditions are no less valid than someone else’s enjoyment of posting pictures of fall-themed outfits on the internet or the pleasure they get from their pumpkin-flavored coffee. I don’t mean to imply that there’s anything wrong either with the enjoyment of those things or with those things themselves. But I do slightly resent that it would be cliché and stereotypical for me to make a remark that I like this time of year.

