Starlight Blogger Award 05/30/2015

This Award is created to highlight and promote Inspiring Bloggers.

Thank you to J. of Salvageable for nominating me for the Starlight Blogger Award, created to “celebrate the creative bloggers who have truly inspired others through their beautiful and original content, imagery, art, abilities, and wonderful personalities.” The three rules, as laid out in Salvageable’s acceptance post, are as follows: “The recipient (if he, she, or they choose to accept) should thank the nominator, answer three questions from the nominator, and then nominate six more blogs for the award.”

So thank you J for the nomination! Since I haven’t been an active blogger in quite a while, I have to admit that I don’t have WordPress e-quaintances at the moment, and some of my original blogger friends are no longer active on WordPress, So I’m going to cheat and just nominate two bloggers. (I assume I’m not supposed to nominate the person who nominated me.) One is among my top commenters and the other is one of my best in-real-life friends, and both of them have awesome blogs that I follow and enjoy. They are Eagle-Eyed Editor and Clara’s Coffee Break. If you would like to accept the award, here are the questions from me:

  1. If you could have one round trip in a time machine, what time period (past or future) or historical event would you choose to visit?
  2. What is your favorite Christmas song, and why?
  3. What is your best memory (so far) from the year 2015?

And now, in response to J’s questions:

  1. What is your favorite part of the holiday season?

I know this is a very non-committal answer, but it really varies from year to year. Sometimes, the gift-giving part is the best part, sometimes the Christmas Eve and/or Christmas morning church services are the best part, and other years, various aspects of holiday preparations end up being more fun than Christmas itself. This year, I will be seeing most of the family about a week after Christmas rather than on Christmas day, so New Year’s will probably be the highlight of the holiday season.

  1. Of all the posts you have written, which one do you consider the best?

Since I have compiled top ten lists out of my first hundred posts and my second hundred posts, I can answer this one just by comparing two posts. I’ll go with this post about Star Wars from April 2013. It may not be the best-written, most humorous, or most intellectual thing I’ve ever posted, but it is, in my opinion, relatively good in terms of all three of those criteria, and it’s particularly significant right now in light of the fact that the movie it discusses came out last Friday. I actually haven’t seen it yet (I will tomorrow, and I very much regret that I didn’t get tickets for opening day) but I’ve heard such good things about it that, in retrospect, this post sounds very pessimistic and a little sad. But I don’t actually disagree with anything I said in it. Due to the fact that I’m very bad at giving straight answers, I’m not completely comfortable with choosing just one best post, and I therefore want to post a link to the short story I posted for Christmas in December 2013. At the moment, I’m also quite pleased with my Santa Claus post, but that probably does have more to do with seasonal relevance than anything else. I’m not going to post the link; it’s pretty easy to find, as it is the previous post.

  1. What is one book you hope to read (or reread) in the next month or two, and why?

In the interest of actually answering the question and naming only one book, I’m choosing The Mystery in the Cupboard as my answer. It’s the fourth book in the Indian in the Cupboard series by Lynne Reid Banks, although I tend to think of it as the main book in the series since I had read it multiple times before I read any of the others, and in my opinion, it’s by far the best in the series. It is a personal tradition for me to read it around Christmas time, preferably on Christmas Eve, although the book itself has nothing to do with Christmas. That tradition started when I was around ten or eleven years old, when I would get so excited and impatient right before Christmas that I felt a need to distract myself by getting lost in a really good book.  That was the book I chose that particular year. It was the second time I’d read it, but ever since then, I’ve associated it with Christmas Eve. I haven’t read it every single year since then, mainly because my own copy is packed up somewhere at my parents’ house, probably in the garage, and I’m not always there on Christmas Eve. Last year, I read it as an eBook on my phone, which I checked out through the library where I worked at the time. This year, I’ve already checked it out (as an actual, physical book) from the library where I now work, and will read it either on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day, depending upon when I finish reading the book that I’m reviewing for School Library Journal.

 

Thanks again for the nomination!

