* to the tune of Madonna’s Material World*

 

Some gifts thrill me, some displease me;

I think that’s okay

‘Cause the gift that comes from God

takes all my sins away.

I have sinned and I have failed

but I can see the light

(that’s right)

‘Cause the boy inside the manger

comes to make things right.

 

Living in a material world

and Jesus is material God

You know that we are living in a material world

and Jesus is material God

 

Gifts will break or lose their worth

and that’s all right with me

The Word made flesh will last forever

to eternity.

So this Christmas please don’t say

“material” is wrong to me

Don’t say that material means evil

That’s Gnostic heresy.

 

‘Cause we are living in a material world

And Jesus is material God

You know that we are living in a material world

And Jesus is material God.

We are living in a material world

And Jesus is material God

You know that we are living in a material world

And Jesus is material God.

 

